Thank You

Our European tour is now finished and we’d like to say thanks to everyone who made this massive endeavor possible.

Love,

Lisa, Evan, Alexa, Jon, Robert, Jefre.

BARN OWL/JEFRE CANTU TOUR BEGINS IN THREE DAYS

Good people of Europe and the United Kingdom,

We leave tomorrow, bringing with us a well-stocked table of goodies including vinyl, two new t-shirt designs, and maybe even some CDs.

Sat Apr 23 Karisruhe, Germany - Dudefest w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sun Apr 24 Darmstadt, Germany - Oetinger Villa w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Tue Apr 26 London, UK - Camp Basement w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Wed Apr 27 Bristol, UK - The Cube w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Thu Apr 28 Dublin, Ireland - The Joinery w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Fri Apr 29 Belfast, UK - The Barge w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sat Apr 30 Glasgow, UK - Captain’s Rest w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sun May 1 Manchester, UK - Sounds From The Other City Festival w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Mon May 2 Brighton, UK - The Hope w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Tue May 3 Antwerp, Belgium - Scheldapen w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Wed May 4 Kortrijk, Belgium - De Kreun w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Thu May 5 Tilburg, Netherlands - Incubated w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, Moon Duo

Fri May 6 Nuernberg, Germany - K4 w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sat May 7 Krems, Austria - Donaufestival

Mon May 9 Prague, Czech Republic - K4 w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Tue May 10 Hamburg, Germany - Hafenklang w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Wed May 11 Aarhus, Denmark - Atlas w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Thu May 12 Copenhagen, Denmark - Mayhem w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Fri May 13 Berlin, Germany - Levee w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sat May 14 Bielefeld, Germany - AJZ w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sun May 15 Dordrecht, Netherlands - Fluister @ CBK w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, Mountains

Mon May 16 Amsterdam, Netherlands - OT301 w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Tue May 17 Bochum, Germany - Christuskirche w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Wed May 18 Paris, France - Mains D’Oeuvres w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma, Stephen O’Malley

Thu May 19 Cholet, France - Espace St. Louis w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Fri May 20 Toulouse, France - Mix Art Myrys w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sat May 21 Lyon, France - Sonic w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Sun May 22 Pisa, Italy - Caracol w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Mon May 23 Bologna, Italy - XM24 w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Tue May 24 Trieste, Italy - Tetris w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Thu May 26 Torino, Italy - Blah Blah w/ Jefre Cantu-Ledesma

Fri May 27 Duedingen, Switzerland - Kilbi Festival

Sat Aug 6 Katowice, Poland - Off Festival

introducing…Vestals

Vestals is the solo guise of Higuma’s Lisa McGee.  Steering away from the sonic abstractions explored in Higuma, Vestals finds McGee diving deep into the craft of the surreal song through layered guitars, dense vocal arrangements, and psychedelic adornments that result in a hypnotic and infectious bliss out.

VESTALS

Jon Porras-Undercurrent (RS83)

Photobucket


It’s been in the pipeline for some time now, so I’m happy to finally announce the upcoming release of my new LP, Undercurrent.  This will be released in an edition of 500 on the fantastic Root Strata label. Recorded last year, the album melds spectral, electric guitar with slow moving currents of gloomy, melodic wash.

“California Gothic set to the tidal rhythms of the Pacific and tuned into the metabolic pathways of the northwest coast. Porras (Barn Owl/ Elm) has scripted a love poem to the mist, a prayer cast in ghostly reflected guitar and deep pools of distortion. The ominous opening of ‘Gray Dunes’ is a dense and impenetrable murk, a fear that eventually succumbs to distortion but then gives way to a endless open space of delay in it’s second half. Its trajectory is symbolic of the record as a whole, with many of the darker paths on ‘Undercurrent’ leading to lush other worlds of delicate beauty, fragile guitar notes that emerge from the sea for a moment or two then fade back into the whole. ‘Calm’ and ‘Lands End’ are lovely spots of respite, clear beams of moonlight breaking through the clouds, a shot of light that ushers in the lone funerary come down of closer ‘Gaze’.”

Official release date is set for May 10th. I’ll also have copies on the upcoming Barn Owl/Jefre Cantu-Ledesma European tour.  More info and sound samples here.